Thursday, August 27, 2009

15km Championship TT

Ficko wins!

We had an amazing turnout tonight for our 15km championship TT. 26 riders made it out tonight to try and take home the gold. The course had to be re-routed and shortened a bit but that didn't stop anyone from giving their all trying to take the title. With a north wind pushing the field home to the finish it was an extremely fast night with little or no places to make up time. If you didn't hammer the uphill start you would need to push more than a 58 tooth front chain ring to keep up with our winner. With the provincial TT only 2 weeks away, Darko Ficko came out tonight and showed everyone he is in fine form and ready to rip the heavy weight belt from around Ryan Roth's waist.

Gold goes to Darko Ficko with a 48.6 avg speed on the 12.5 km course and a time of 15.26. Silver goes to IIija Petrovski with a 48.3 km avg and a time of 15:31 and the bronze goes to Ed Veal with an average speed of 48kms an hour and 12 seconds behind with a time of 15:38. Bryan Wolfe had the fastest 15km TT of the entire season and has a medal to prove it but..... was 5 seconds off the podium tonight! Oh ya.....check out Merrill's time too, I see a few provincial golds in this line up!!

Congratulations guys and good luck at the provincial TT!!

Finish First Last Team ET
1G Darko Ficko LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 15:26.0
2S Ilija Petrovski Wheels of Bloor 15:31.0
3B Ed Veal LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 15:38.0
4Best ET Bryan Wolff LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 15:43.0
5 Peter Morse Jet Fuel Coffee 16:05.0
6 Neil Hendry LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 16:26.0
7 Heath Cockburn LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 16:44.0
8 Merrill Collins LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 16:46.0
9 Rod McEwen MCOR 16:51.
10 Dave Frake Midweek 16:53.0
11 Bob Tomsic Norco 17:08.0
12 Peter Kofman Coach Chris 17:14.0
13 Jamie Smith Ciclowerks 17:16.0
14 Frank Stillo LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 17:17.0
15 Mike Steed Norco 17:31.0
16 Joel Cash Wheels of Bloor 17:37.0
17 Steve Pasquill Bicycles + 17:37.0
18 Christiane Knobbe MCOR 17:45.0
19 Marc Cascella Lapdogs 17:48.0
20 Gerard Martineau Above Threshold 17:49.0
21 David Chong Lapdogs 18:20.0
22 Marco Salvati Midweek 18:25.0
23 Charles Gordon Dark Horse Flyer 19:09.0
24 Ayesha Rollinson Trek 19:10.0
25 Mandy Mayo LaBicicletta/Jlindberg 20:53.0
26 Charles Magyar Midweek 21:37.0

Time keeper - Bob Haufler Film Crew - Paul Eekhoff Chef - Merv Veal

We would really like to thank everyone who came out and gave it their all this year. Without you there is no TNTT and we really appreciate the effort you put in and support you give it by showing up and making it what it is. I would also like to thank our sponsors, the Midweek cycling club and LaBiciSquadra cycling club. We will be looking for a title sponsor next year to help out our clubs so if your interested in supporting local cycling or know someone who is please contact me about our 2010 series. The best part of this whole experience was I got to meet some great new people! This season I had a blast running the event and a big part of that was partnering up with Mr Bob Haufler! We are going to keep this thing rolling and are pumped about doing it again next year. So stay tuned to our websites and blogs for info on next season, the off season, coaching and training and what events we will have coming your way for 2010!Next week Bob will be holding our 40km championship TT.

Midweek CC
LaBiciSquadra CC
TNTT Times